Reciprocal States

The Texas license is Reciprocal with the following states. Once you obtain your Texas state license you may apply for licenses in each state without taking an additional course.

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Connecticut
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Kentucky
  11. Louisiana
  12. Maine
  13. Massachusetts
  14. Michigan
  15. Minnesota
  16. Mississippi
  17. Montana
  18. Nevada
  19. New Hampshire
  20. New Mexico
  21. North Carolina
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Oregon
  24. Rhode Island
  25. South Carolina
  26. Utah
  27. Vermont
  28. Washington
  29. West Virginia
  30. Wyoming


The following states do not require an adjuster to be licensed to operate in their state:

  1. Colorado
  2. The District of Columbia
  3. Illinois
  4. Iowa
  5. Kansas
  6. Maryland
  7. Missouri
  8. Nebraska
  9. New Jersey
  10. North Dakota
  11. South Dakota
  12. Ohio
  13. Pennsylvania
  14. Tennessee
  15. Virginia
  16. Wisconsin


Non Residents of the State of Texas:

Non-residents of Texas and residents in states that require adjuster licensing, are required to obtain your home state license before Texas will issue you a non-resident license.  Please check with the Department of Insurance in your state to determine the requirements to obtain your license.

The Texas Department of Insurance will allow residents of the states that do not license adjusters to choose Texas as their resident state in order to have the full benefits of Reciprocity.