The Licensing Division is responsible for the licensing and regulation of persons who wish to sell insurance or adjust property-casualty claims in the state of Texas.
At the end of August, 2010, there were 421,502 agents, agencies, and adjusters licensed.
The Division processes license applications, renews licenses, registers appointments of agents by insurers, and regulates continuing education for licensees.
Managing Your Licenses
Texas agents and adjusters can now view their current CE credits, update their e-mail address, request a letter of certification, renew or apply for their license and find their Texas license number or National Producer number at “Agent/Adjuster Electronic Licensing Services” link. Agent/adjusters can also activate a free ProducerEDGE account allowing them to manage their licenses with ease.
Public Insurance Adjuster
The Public Insurance Adjuster Law (SB127 of the 78th Legislative Session) became effective on June 11, 2003. Article 21.07-5 Section 3 (a) requires that: “A person may not act as a public insurance adjuster in this state or hold himself or herself out to be a public insurance adjuster in this state, unless the person holds a license or certificate issued by the commissioner under Section 5, 15, or 16 of this article.”
- Examination: There is no provision in statute that would allow Public Insurance Adjusters (PIA) to qualify for license by taking a prelicense course. Such courses may or may not be useful to prepare for the PIA License Qualifying test. Get information about testing, get a license application, or schedule an examination by contacting Prometric. You may do this on the internet, or call them toll free at (866)267-0455.
- Bond Form: A Public Insurance Adjuster must have a $10,000 Public Insurance Adjuster’s bond.
- The statute: Click here to review the statute (Senate Bill 127).
- The rule: Review the Public Insurance Adjuster rule.
- Public insurance adjusters charge fees to help negotiate claim settlements with insurance companies. The public insurance adjuster fee is normally a percentage of the claim settlement and therefore is paid out of settlement monies received from an insurer.
- If a claim is settled within 72 hours of the date the loss is reported to the insurance company, the public adjuster is entitled only to reasonable compensation for time and expenses.
- The public adjuster’s fee may not exceed 10 percent of a claim settlement and must be disclosed in the public adjuster written contract.
- Public adjusters may not give legal advice.
- The public adjuster may not participate, either directly or indirectly, in the reconstruction or repair of damaged property that is the subject of a claim adjusted by the public adjuster.
The Texas license is Reciprocal with the following states. Once you obtain your Texas state license you may apply for licenses in each state without taking an additional course.
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- West Virginia
The following states do not require an adjuster to be licensed to operate in their state:
- The District of Columbia
- New Jersey
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
Non Residents of the State of Texas:
Non-residents of Texas and residents in states that require adjuster licensing, are required to obtain your home state license before Texas will issue you a non-resident license. Please check with the Department of Insurance in your state to determine the requirements to obtain your license.
The Texas Department of Insurance will allow residents of the states that do not license adjusters to choose Texas as their resident state in order to have the full benefits of Reciprocity.
Book A Course Today!
Ready to get begin a prosperous career in insurance adjusting? Click below to view our courses and dates to get started!